Skip to content
April 23, 2018 / Leslie

Mailbox Monday ~ April 23rd

Welcome to Mailbox Monday, created by Marcia of To Be Continued, a place where readers share the books that came in their mailbox during the last week.

After several years of being on tour with different blogs as the monthly host, the Mailbox Monday Blog is now the permanent home for the meme.
 


It’s been another busy week with reading and blogging once again on the back burner. And now that the weather has finally turned spring-like, I have a very messy yard to start cleaning up before I can get my flowers and veggies in for the season.

This coming Saturday is the 24 Hour Readathon, a twice yearly (and one of my favorite) events where readers across the globe participate at the same time. I have never made the entire 24 hours, but even 5 or 6 hours would make me happy! This might be what I need to get back into my reading grove.

A few new books in the mailbox . . .

New Arrivals

How to Love a Jamaican: Stories by Alexia Arthurs from Ballantine Books.

From a magnetic new voice, a debut story collection set in Jamaica and America for readers of Zadie Smith, Helen Oyeyemi, and Imbolo Mbue.

Somebody’s Daughter by David Bell from Berkley Books.

In the pulse-racing new suspense novel from the bestselling and acclaimed author of Bring Her Home and Since She Went Away, the life of a little girl rests in the hands of the father who never even knew she existed…

Into the Raging Sea: Thirty-Three Mariners, One Megastorm, and the Sinking of El Faro by Rachel Slade from Ecco.

A richly reported account of a singular tragedy, Into the Raging Sea takes us into the heart of an age-old American industry, casting new light on the hardworking men and women who paid the ultimate price in the name of profit.

——————————–
© 2018 Under My Apple Tree. All rights reserved.
Advertisements appearing on this site are placed by WordPress and are not endorsed or approved by me.

Advertisements

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Silver's Reviews / Apr 23 2018 3:41 pm

    ENJOY!!

    I have SOMEBODY’S DAUGHTER too.

    Like

  2. Laurel-Rain Snow / Apr 23 2018 4:03 pm

    Somebody’s Daughter looks tempting. Thanks for sharing…

    Like

  3. Mary / Apr 23 2018 4:12 pm

    All new to me. In ten years of blogging I still haven’t been able to participate in a readathon. I can’t this weekend either. I hope you get a good chunk of reading in!

    Like

  4. BermudaOnion / Apr 23 2018 6:49 pm

    They all look great! I’m looking forward to Into the Raging Sea.

    Like

  5. sagustocox / Apr 24 2018 12:58 pm

    I must be busy if I’ve forgotten that readathon is coming!

    Like

  6. MarthaE / Apr 24 2018 10:34 pm

    Good variety. Hope you get to enjoy the readathon. Someday I’ll try one I hope. Happy Reading!

    Like

Comment are welcome. Thanks for stopping by.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: