Skip to content
January 16, 2019 / Leslie

Wordless Wednesday: Winter Pond

Almost wordless: A sunny day last week before the recent snowstorm.

——————————–
More Wordless Wednesday. © 2019 Under My Apple Tree. All rights reserved.
Advertisements appearing on this site are placed by WordPress and are not endorsed or approved by me.

Advertisements
January 14, 2019 / Leslie

Mailbox Monday ~ January 14th

Welcome to Mailbox Monday, created by Marcia of To Be Continued, a place where readers share the books that came in their mailbox during the last week.

After several years of being on tour with different blogs as the monthly host, the Mailbox Monday Blog is now the permanent home for the meme.


 
One new book this week. A psychological thriller. I need something engaging to jump-start my reading.

Last year I only read 30 books, and the previous year it was 50. That’s a very low number for me, and I’m asking myself, why?

Focus! I seem to have lost it. And not only in reading. It’s also happening in other areas of my life. And it’s disturbing for me, someone who has always been so organized. So focus is my one word for 2019.

New Arrivals

The Secretary by Renée Knight from Harper.

Renée Knight follows up her international sensation Disclaimer with this shivery tale of psychological suspense, featuring a character as disturbing and compelling as Mrs. Danvers in Daphne Du Maurier’s Rebecca.

——————————–
© 2019 Under My Apple Tree. All rights reserved.
Advertisements appearing on this site are placed by WordPress and are not endorsed or approved by me.

January 1, 2019 / Leslie

First Book of the Year 2019

Happy New Year!

And welcome to First Book of the Year hosted by Sheila at Book Journey. Join us as we kick off another year of great reading.

First Book

This year’s first book is Birds of a Feather: A True Story of Hope and the Healing Power of Animals by Lorin Lindner. Those who visit my site know it’s no surprise that I would choose a book about birds as my first book of 2019.

I needed something to kick-start me back into print reading. I’ve been having some vision problems, so reading takes more concentration than listening. My right eye has developed some very annoying floaters that are distracting and frustrating, mostly when I’m doing close work like reading or writing. The doctors says eventually I won’t see them as much, and with regular checkups my sight should be fine, but it’s irritating and annoying, and has contributed to my reading slowdown. But I really do love holding and reading a book, so I’m making an effort! Thank goodness for audiobooks! I am still able to keep up with my book club selections.

Birds of a Feather by Lorin Lindner

Animal lover though she was, Lorin Lindner was definitely not looking for a pet. She was busy training to be a psychologist. Then came Sammy – a mischievous and extremely loud bright pink Moluccan cockatoo who had been abandoned. It was love at first sight. But Sammy needed a companion. Enter Mango, lover of humans (“Hewwo”), inveterate thief of precious objects. Realizing that there were many parrots in need of new homes, Dr. Lindner eventually founded a sanctuary for them.

Meanwhile, she began to meet homeless veterans on the streets of Los Angeles. Before long she was a full time advocate for these former service members, who were often suffering from Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) and finding it hard to navigate the large VA Healthcare System Ultimately, Dr. Lindner created a program for them, too.

Eventually the two parts of her life came together when she founded Serenity Park, a unique sanctuary on the grounds of the Greater Los Angeles Veterans Administration Healthcare Center. She had noticed that the veterans she treated as a clinical psychologist and the parrots she had taken in as a rescuer quickly formed bonds. Men and women who had been silent in therapy would share their stories and their feelings more easily with animals. Now wounded warriors and wounded parrots find a path of healing together.

First Book of the Year

——————————–
© 2019 Under My Apple Tree. All rights reserved.
Advertisements appearing on this site are placed by WordPress and are not endorsed or approved by me.

December 31, 2018 / Leslie

Mailbox Monday ~ December 31st

Welcome to Mailbox Monday, created by Marcia of To Be Continued, a place where readers share the books that came in their mailbox during the last week.

After several years of being on tour with different blogs as the monthly host, the Mailbox Monday Blog is now the permanent home for the meme.


 
Wishing everyone a safe and productive new year. This year sure went by fast. I can’t believe it’s the last day of the year already, but here we are.

No new books but I did receive some audiobook downloads.

New Arrivals

The Dreamers by Karen Thompson Walker from PRH Audio.

A mesmerizing novel about a college town transformed by a strange illness that locks victims in a perpetual sleep and triggers life-altering dreams

The Liar’s Room by Simon Lelic from PRH Audio.

A new spine-tingling thriller from the author of The New Neighbors that takes place over the course of a therapy session, in which neither patient nor therapist are who they claim to be.

——————————–
© 2018 Under My Apple Tree. All rights reserved.
Advertisements appearing on this site are placed by WordPress and are not endorsed or approved by me.

December 17, 2018 / Leslie

Mailbox Monday ~ December 17th

Welcome to Mailbox Monday, created by Marcia of To Be Continued, a place where readers share the books that came in their mailbox during the last week.

After several years of being on tour with different blogs as the monthly host, the Mailbox Monday Blog is now the permanent home for the meme.


 

Yesterday was almost balmy. Most of the snow melted and the sun was out. One of the few things I like about winter is the golden afternoon lighting on a cloudless day.

One new book…

New Arrivals

The Night Before by Wendy Walker from St. Martin’s Press.

Told in dual timelines—the night before and the day after—The Night Before is a riveting thriller about family loyalty, obsession, and what happens when the desire for love spins out of control.

——————————–
© 2018 Under My Apple Tree. All rights reserved.
Advertisements appearing on this site are placed by WordPress and are not endorsed or approved by me.

December 10, 2018 / Leslie

Mailbox Monday ~ December 10th

Welcome to Mailbox Monday, created by Marcia of To Be Continued, a place where readers share the books that came in their mailbox during the last week.

After several years of being on tour with different blogs as the monthly host, the Mailbox Monday Blog is now the permanent home for the meme.


 
My Meyers parrot decided to photo bomb my book picture this week.

New Arrivals

The Hunting Party by Lucy Foley from Harper.

For fans of Ruth Ware and Tana French, a shivery, atmospheric, page-turning novel of psychological suspense in the tradition of Agatha Christie, in which a group of old college friends are snowed in at a hunting lodge . . . and murder and mayhem ensue.

Freefall by Jessica Barry from Harper.

A propulsive debut novel with the intensity of Luckiest Girl Alive and Before the Fall, about a young woman determined to survive and a mother determined to find her.

I’ll Be Your Blue Sky by Marisa de los Santos from Harper.

Shifting between the 1950s and the present and told in the alternating voices of Edith and Clare, I’ll Be Your Blue Sky is vintage Marisa de los Santos—an emotionally evocative novel that probes the deepest recesses of the human heart and illuminates the tender connections that bind our lives.

——————————–
© 2018 Under My Apple Tree. All rights reserved.
Advertisements appearing on this site are placed by WordPress and are not endorsed or approved by me.

November 28, 2018 / Leslie

Wordless Wednesday: Snowy Day

Almost wordless: Way too early in the season for snow.

——————————–
More Wordless Wednesday. © 2018 Under My Apple Tree. All rights reserved.
Advertisements appearing on this site are placed by WordPress and are not endorsed or approved by me.

%d bloggers like this: