Skip to content
December 10, 2018 / Leslie

Mailbox Monday ~ December 10th

Welcome to Mailbox Monday, created by Marcia of To Be Continued, a place where readers share the books that came in their mailbox during the last week.

After several years of being on tour with different blogs as the monthly host, the Mailbox Monday Blog is now the permanent home for the meme.


 
My Meyers parrot decided to photo bomb my book picture this week.

New Arrivals

The Hunting Party by Lucy Foley from Harper.

For fans of Ruth Ware and Tana French, a shivery, atmospheric, page-turning novel of psychological suspense in the tradition of Agatha Christie, in which a group of old college friends are snowed in at a hunting lodge . . . and murder and mayhem ensue.

Freefall by Jessica Barry from Harper.

A propulsive debut novel with the intensity of Luckiest Girl Alive and Before the Fall, about a young woman determined to survive and a mother determined to find her.

I’ll Be Your Blue Sky by Marisa de los Santos from Harper.

Shifting between the 1950s and the present and told in the alternating voices of Edith and Clare, I’ll Be Your Blue Sky is vintage Marisa de los Santos—an emotionally evocative novel that probes the deepest recesses of the human heart and illuminates the tender connections that bind our lives.

——————————–
© 2018 Under My Apple Tree. All rights reserved.
Advertisements appearing on this site are placed by WordPress and are not endorsed or approved by me.

Advertisements
November 28, 2018 / Leslie

Wordless Wednesday: Snowy Day

Almost wordless: Way too early in the season for snow.

——————————–
More Wordless Wednesday. © 2018 Under My Apple Tree. All rights reserved.
Advertisements appearing on this site are placed by WordPress and are not endorsed or approved by me.

November 26, 2018 / Leslie

Mailbox Monday ~ November 26th

Welcome to Mailbox Monday, created by Marcia of To Be Continued, a place where readers share the books that came in their mailbox during the last week.

After several years of being on tour with different blogs as the monthly host, the Mailbox Monday Blog is now the permanent home for the meme.


 
An unwelcome weather event dumped 8 inches of snow on us last night. Yesterday afternoon involved putting away the last remaining yard items that I don’t like to leave out in the winter, and then running to the grocery store so I wouldn’t have to deal with it in the snow and inevitable deep freeze that follows a Midwestern snowstorm.

No new books but I did receive some audiobook downloads.

There are still a few days to enter the Audio Publishers Association (APA) giveaway, a set of eight audiobook downloads.  A Good Audiobook Speaks Volumes runs through the end of November.

New Arrivals

Elevation by Stephen King from Simon & Schuster Audio.

Set in the fictional town of Castle Rock, Maine. The latest from legendary master storyteller Stephen King, a riveting, extraordinarily eerie, and moving story about a man whose mysterious affliction brings a small town together—a timely, upbeat tale about finding common ground despite deep-rooted differences.

Fear: Trump in the White House by Bob Woodward from Simon & Schuster Audio.

With authoritative reporting honed through eight presidencies from Nixon to Obama, author Bob Woodward reveals in unprecedented detail the harrowing life inside President Donald Trump’s White House and precisely how he makes decisions on major foreign and domestic policies.

——————————–
© 2018 Under My Apple Tree. All rights reserved.
Advertisements appearing on this site are placed by WordPress and are not endorsed or approved by me.

November 22, 2018 / Leslie

Happy Thanksgiving 2018

Happy Thanksgiving

Happy Thanksgiving to those who are celebrating today.

——————————–
© 2018 Under My Apple Tree. All rights reserved.
Advertisements appearing on this site are placed by WordPress and are not endorsed or approved by me.

November 21, 2018 / Leslie

Wordless Wednesday: Autumn Joe Pye Weed

Almost wordless: Another wildflower from my garden. This late season bloomer is a real beauty with its deep pink colors. It attracts butterflies in the summer, and at 3 feet tall, adds structure to the winter garden.

——————————–
More Wordless Wednesday. © 2018 Under My Apple Tree. All rights reserved.
Advertisements appearing on this site are placed by WordPress and are not endorsed or approved by me.

November 19, 2018 / Leslie

Mailbox Monday ~ November 19th

Welcome to Mailbox Monday, created by Marcia of To Be Continued, a place where readers share the books that came in their mailbox during the last week.

After several years of being on tour with different blogs as the monthly host, the Mailbox Monday Blog is now the permanent home for the meme.


 
A couple of new books arrived over the past few weeks. I haven’t had a lot of time to sit down and read so my reading has been mostly audio, but I could not resist requesting these. I can never pass up a cookbook, and I enjoyed Taylor Jenkins Reid’s last book, The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo, so a new book by her that takes place in the 70s (yes, I can remember the 70s) was appealing to me.

And audio listeners take note… this month the Audio Publishers Association (APA) is once again sponsoring a month-long blog tour and giveaway, A Good Audiobook Speaks Volumes, and will be giving away a set of eight audiobook downloads throughout the month of November on each participating blog. My stop on the tour was last week. There is still time to enter to win some good audio downloads. The giveaway runs through the end of the month.

New Arrivals

Daisy Jones & the Six by Taylor Jenkins Reid from Ballantine Books.

Everyone knows Daisy Jones & The Six, but nobody knows the reason behind their split at the absolute height of their popularity . . . until now.

The Southern Living Party Cookbook by Elizabeth Heiskell from AmazonVine.

Say “hello” to the modern-day reinterpretation of the best-selling Southern Living cookbook of all time, 1972’s Southern Living Party Cookbook.

——————————–
© 2018 Under My Apple Tree. All rights reserved.
Advertisements appearing on this site are placed by WordPress and are not endorsed or approved by me.

November 14, 2018 / Leslie

Wordless Wednesday: Autumn Wildflower Garden

Almost wordless: Still some color in my backyard wildflower garden.

——————————–
More Wordless Wednesday. © 2018 Under My Apple Tree. All rights reserved.
Advertisements appearing on this site are placed by WordPress and are not endorsed or approved by me.

%d bloggers like this: