Skip to content
August 13, 2018 / Leslie

Mailbox Monday ~ August 13th

Welcome to Mailbox Monday, created by Marcia of To Be Continued, a place where readers share the books that came in their mailbox during the last week.

After several years of being on tour with different blogs as the monthly host, the Mailbox Monday Blog is now the permanent home for the meme.


 

A couple of new books last week . . .

New Arrivals

Time and Time Again: Sixteen Stories of Time Travel by Robert Silverberg from LibraryThing.

Beloved sci-fi Grand Master Robert Silverberg collects all his best time travel fiction in one place, with new introductions detailing the back story behind each tale.

The Forbidden Door by Dean Koontz from Penguin Random House.

When this relentless rogue FBI agent comes knocking, her adversaries will have to answer—with their lives—in the latest thrilling Jane Hawk novel

——————————–
© 2018 Under My Apple Tree. All rights reserved.
Advertisements appearing on this site are placed by WordPress and are not endorsed or approved by me.

Advertisements
August 8, 2018 / Leslie

Wordless Wednesday: Hiding in Plain Sight

Almost wordless: The Goldfinches love the tall coneflowers in my garden.

——————————–
More Wordless Wednesday. © 2018 Under My Apple Tree. All rights reserved.
Advertisements appearing on this site are placed by WordPress and are not endorsed or approved by me.

August 6, 2018 / Leslie

Mailbox Monday ~ August 6th

Welcome to Mailbox Monday, created by Marcia of To Be Continued, a place where readers share the books that came in their mailbox during the last week.

After several years of being on tour with different blogs as the monthly host, the Mailbox Monday Blog is now the permanent home for the meme.


 
My string of gorgeous summer Monday mornings has come to an end. As I type this, I’m sitting in my office watching the pouring rain. But my garden will be happy, the rain barrels will be full again, and I don’t have to haul out the hose for a few days.

No new books in the physical mailbox, but I did receive some audiobook downloads in the past few weeks.

New Arrivals

Vox by Christina Dalcher from PRH Audio.

Set in an America where half the population has been silenced, VOX is the harrowing, unforgettable story of what one woman will do to protect herself and her daughter.

With You Always by Rena Olsen from PRH Audio.

From the author of The Girl Before comes a tense and incisive work of psychological suspense that examines how easy it is to fall into the wrong relationship . . . and how impossible it can be to leave.

Find You In The Dark by Nathan Ripley from Simon & Schuster Audio.

In this chilling debut thriller, in the vein of Dexter and The Talented Mr. Ripley, a family man obsessed with digging up the undiscovered remains of serial killer victims catches the attention of a murderer prowling the streets of Seattle.

The Death of Mrs. Westaway by Ruth Ware from Simon & Schuster Audio.

Full of spellbinding menace and told in Ruth Ware’s signature suspenseful style, this is an unputdownable thriller from the Agatha Christie of our time.

Connect by Julian Gough from PRH Audio.

Connect reboots the classic story of a family coming apart at the seams for our looming era of mass surveillance, virtual reality, and miraculous biotechnology.

Founding Martyr: The Life and Death of Dr. Joseph Warren, the American Revolution’s Lost Hero by Christian Di Spigna from PRH Audio.

A rich and illuminating biography of America’s forgotten Founding Father, the patriot physician and major general who fomented rebellion and died heroically at the battle of Bunker Hill on the brink of revolution

——————————–
© 2018 Under My Apple Tree. All rights reserved.
Advertisements appearing on this site are placed by WordPress and are not endorsed or approved by me.

August 3, 2018 / Leslie

North on the Wing by Bruce M. Beehler

A Rapid Review

Travels with the Songbird Migration of Spring

Publisher: Smithsonian Books | February 2018
Format: Hardcover| Rating: 4 stars
Genre: Science/Memior

What’s it about . . .

The story of an ornithologist’s journey to trace the spring migration of songbirds from the southern border of the United States through the heartland and into Canada.

What did I think . . .
I have been birding for many years and am familiar with most of the warbler species and many of the places the author discussed in his account of his travels. It is an extended journey I would love to take, but probably will never have the opportunity to do, so I enjoyed going on the road through reading about his experiences.

I had intended to read this during spring migration, which is the time period that the author’s journey takes place. From March until July he attempts to document as many warblers as he can, beginning in the Texas Gulf and heading north towards Ontario. Instead, I found myself picking the book up here and there and in between other books, or whenever I felt the need to connect with the birding world. It’s that kind of book. You don’t need to read it quickly, but rather savor the journey.

Besides discussing each of the warblers (accompanied by a cute illustration), the author talks about migration in general; the relationship between birds, the environment, and things that affect bird populations; a little history; and it’s also a bit of a travel diary of his experiences along the way.

This is an easy read that anyone can enjoy. It is not heavy on technical or scientific information, but it is definitely aimed at those interested in nature and birds.

An Under My Apple Tree Rapid Review
——————————–
Source: Review copy provided by the publisher.
© 2018 Under My Apple Tree. All rights reserved.
Advertisements appearing on this site are placed by WordPress and are not endorsed or approved by me.

August 1, 2018 / Leslie

Wordless Wednesday: Poison Ivy

Almost wordless: I’ve been seeing a lot of poison ivy this year. This healthy vine was climbing a tree, but there was plenty growing on the ground too.

——————————–
More Wordless Wednesday. © 2018 Under My Apple Tree. All rights reserved.
Advertisements appearing on this site are placed by WordPress and are not endorsed or approved by me.

July 31, 2018 / Leslie

Crown of Stars by Sophie Jaff (Nightsong Trilogy #2)

A Rapid Review

Publisher: Harper | June 2017 432 Pages
Format: Paperback 432 Pages | Rating: 5 stars
Genre: Science Fiction / Fantasy

In Sophie Jaff’s spellbinding sequel to Love is Red, two women living centuries apart are bound together by an ancient prophecy, which ignites a dark story of obsession, betrayal, and revenge

What’s it about . . .
Crown of Stars continues the story a few months after we left off in Love is Red. While it’s possible to read this one first, there is a lot of backstory that would be missed, so I recommend starting with the first book in this trilogy.

The story alternates between Katherine, in the present, and Margaret, hundreds of years ago in a medieval English village. Katherine is trying to rebuild her life after the horrible events of last summer when she was attacked and her roommate murdered. Her boyfriend has left her and now she discovers she is pregnant. Margaret has just left her village after her father remarried, but she has inherited her mother’s talents, and there are rumors she is a witch.

What did I think . . .
Like the first novel in the trilogy, this is a blend of genres including elements of horror, fantasy, and the supernatural. The story was well-written and the book difficult to put down. I’m always leary of “middle book syndrome” in a trilogy, but this was a pleasant surprise, as good as the first book with lots of suspense and unexpected twists. And for the few times I became a little confused, answers were revealed as the story progressed. There is a big cliffhanger at the end, so I am anxiously anticipating book three!

An Under My Apple Tree Rapid Review
——————————–
Source: Review copy provided by the publisher.
© 2018 Under My Apple Tree. All rights reserved.
Advertisements appearing on this site are placed by WordPress and are not endorsed or approved by me.

July 30, 2018 / Leslie

Mailbox Monday ~ July 30th

Welcome to Mailbox Monday, created by Marcia of To Be Continued, a place where readers share the books that came in their mailbox during the last week.

After several years of being on tour with different blogs as the monthly host, the Mailbox Monday Blog is now the permanent home for the meme.


 
Three weeks in a row I’m writing my Monday post from my outdoor office (aka backyard deck). Another gorgeous morning, but don’t tell the weather gods that Chicago is supposed to be hot, humid and miserable this time of year.

At the last minute I found out that there was a Reverse Summer Readathon this past weekend, but I was only able to participate for a few hours as I already had Saturday commitments. The readathon is always one of my favorite events; I love the way it joins the book community worldwide.

A few new books last week . . .

New Arrivals


The Amazing Adventures of Aaron Broom by A.E. Hotchner, a win from from Bookreporter’s Summer Reading and Doubleday.

A heartwarming amateur detective story set in Depression-Era St. Louis from beloved author A.E. Hotchner.

The Splendor Before the Dark by Margaret George from Berkley Group.

Ascending to the throne was only the beginning… Now Margaret George, the author of The Confessions of Young Nero, weaves a web of politics and passion, as ancient Rome’s most infamous emperor cements his place in history.

Birds and Their Feathers by Britta Teckentrup from Kathy at BermudaOnion. Thank you so much. Kathy knows how much I love birds!

The creator of The Egg returns to her avian explorations with this wondrous, charming, and informative examination of feathers.

——————————–
© 2018 Under My Apple Tree. All rights reserved.
Advertisements appearing on this site are placed by WordPress and are not endorsed or approved by me.

%d bloggers like this: