Skip to content
May 20, 2019 / Leslie

Mailbox Monday ~ May 20th

Welcome to Mailbox Monday, created by Marcia of To Be Continued, a place where readers share the books that came in their mailbox during the last week.

After several years of being on tour with different blogs as the monthly host, the Mailbox Monday Blog is now the permanent home for the meme.


 
A few new book arrivals the past couple of weeks and the possible arrival of spring. I even have a few flowers in my garden thanks to the perennials blooming no matter how the weather is behaving.

New Arrivals

The Desert Sky Before Us by Anne Valente from Harper.

From award-winning author Anne Valente comes this poignant and unforgettable literary novel of two estranged sisters—one, a former racecar driver and the other a recently-released prisoner—who embark on a road trip together to complete the scavenger hunt their mother designed for them before her death.

My Coney Island Baby by Billy O’Callaghan from Harper.

Radiant with beauty, longing, and desire, and deeply touching, this literary novel, reminiscent of the works of William Trevor and Colm Tóibín, evokes the long love affair between a man and a woman, each married to another, who meet every month in a decaying hotel in Coney Island, Brooklyn.

DK Findout! Coding by DK Publishing from AmazonVine.

Increase your computer-coding knowledge with this children’s book full of photographs and illustrations, fascinating facts, and engaging challenges–from the creators of DKfindout.com, DK’s free online resource for kids.

——————————–
© 2019 Under My Apple Tree. All rights reserved.
Advertisements appearing on this site are placed by WordPress and are not endorsed or approved by me.

Advertisements
May 6, 2019 / Leslie

Mailbox Monday ~ May 6th

Welcome to Mailbox Monday, created by Marcia of To Be Continued, a place where readers share the books that came in their mailbox during the last week.

After several years of being on tour with different blogs as the monthly host, the Mailbox Monday Blog is now the permanent home for the meme.


 
I think spring has finally sprung! Two days in a row of mild morning temperatures and sunshine. Unfortunately with the late appearance of spring, everything seems to be sending out pollen at the same time. Horrible for allergy sufferers like me who still insist on being outside. Eyedrops and antihistamines can only do so much!

One new arrival last week. A beach read, just in time for summer and a few relaxing afternoons on my deck imagining I’m at a resort!

New Arrivals


Sunset Beach by Mary Kay Andrews from Tandem Literary.

Pull up a lounge chair and have a cocktail at Sunset Beach – it comes with a twist.

Drue Campbell’s life is adrift. Out of a job and down on her luck, life doesn’t seem to be getting any better when her estranged father, Brice Campbell, a flamboyant personal injury attorney, shows up at her mother’s funeral after a twenty-year absence. Worse, he’s remarried – to Drue’s eighth grade frenemy, Wendy, now his office manager. And they’re offering her a job.

——————————–
© 2019 Under My Apple Tree. All rights reserved.
Advertisements appearing on this site are placed by WordPress and are not endorsed or approved by me.

April 29, 2019 / Leslie

Mailbox Monday ~ April 29th

Welcome to Mailbox Monday, created by Marcia of To Be Continued, a place where readers share the books that came in their mailbox during the last week.

After several years of being on tour with different blogs as the monthly host, the Mailbox Monday Blog is now the permanent home for the meme.


 

I’m leaving my springtime mailbox graphic up even though we had 4 inches of snow Saturday. I think that was a record for late season snowfall here. With all the cool night temperatures and occasional frost warning the past few weeks, I delayed planting my garden. Good thing I did, but I was not expecting shoveable snow.

I got a couple new books that I hope might get me out of my reading slump. I even went to the library to see if anything there would get me excited. I’m still listening to audio, but reading has become a strain on my eyes. A trip to the eye doctor confirmed that my vision has changed so I an getting new glasses.

New Arrivals

Emily Eternal by M.G. Wheaton from Grand Central Publishing through AmazonVine.

Meet Emily, “the best AI character since HAL 9000” (Blake Crouch). She can solve advanced mathematical problems, unlock the mind’s deepest secrets, but unfortunately, even she can’t restart the sun.

Space 2.0: How Private Spaceflight, a Resurgent Nasa, and International Partners Are Creating a New Space Age by Rod Pyle from Benbella Books through AmazonVine.

In Space 2.0, space historian Rod Pyle, in collaboration with the National Space Society, will give you an inside look at the next few decades of spaceflight and long-term plans for exploration, utilization, and settlement.

——————————–
© 2019 Under My Apple Tree. All rights reserved.
Advertisements appearing on this site are placed by WordPress and are not endorsed or approved by me.

April 10, 2019 / Leslie

Wordless Wednesday: Sign of Spring

Almost wordless: I found this little crocus while raking the side yard. A sure sign that spring is really here.

——————————–
More Wordless Wednesday. © 2018 Under My Apple Tree. All rights reserved.
Advertisements appearing on this site are placed by WordPress and are not endorsed or approved by me.

April 8, 2019 / Leslie

Mailbox Monday ~ April 8th

Welcome to Mailbox Monday, created by Marcia of To Be Continued, a place where readers share the books that came in their mailbox during the last week.

After several years of being on tour with different blogs as the monthly host, the Mailbox Monday Blog is now the permanent home for the meme.


 

I’ve gotten a little behind on reading and blogging. I didn’t intend to stop writing, but somehow it happened. Life just got in the way, and the blog got shoved into the background.

This will be another busy week – I always end up waiting until the minute to do income taxes. My computer and printer breaking down at the same time was a good excuse. But the reality is, after working for decades in tax, I just don’t like to do it and procrastinate. There is always something better to do!

Some new books over the past few weeks …

New Arrivals

On Democracy by E.B. White from Harper.

Anchored by an introduction by Pulitzer Prize-winning historian Jon Meacham, this concise collection of essays, letters, and poems from one of this country’s most eminent literary voices offers much-needed historical context for our current state of the nation—and hope for the future of our society.

All the Beautiful Lies by Peter Swanson from William Morrow.

From the acclaimed author of Her Every Fear and The Kind Worth Killing comes a diabolically clever tale of obsession, revenge, and cold-blooded murder—a sly and brilliant guessing game of a novel in the vein of Ruth Ware, Paula Hawkins, and Patricia Highsmith.

The Last Time I Saw You by Liv Constantine from Harper.

The internationally bestselling author of The Last Mrs. Parrish follows that success with an addictive novel filled with shocking twists about the aftermath of a brutal high-society murder.

The Binding by Bridget Collins from William Morrow.

[A]n unforgettable, magical novel: a boundary-defying love story and a unique literary event.

——————————–
© 2019 Under My Apple Tree. All rights reserved.
Advertisements appearing on this site are placed by WordPress and are not endorsed or approved by me.

January 21, 2019 / Leslie

Mailbox Monday ~ January 21st

Welcome to Mailbox Monday, created by Marcia of To Be Continued, a place where readers share the books that came in their mailbox during the last week.

After several years of being on tour with different blogs as the monthly host, the Mailbox Monday Blog is now the permanent home for the meme.


 

Did anyone see the Blood Wolf Moon last night? It was way too cold to stand outside and take photos last night, but I did poke my head out a few times and had a view through my garden window. What can say, just awesome!

One new book …

New Arrivals

Complete Wellness: Enjoy Long-lasting Health and Well-being with over 800 Natural Remedies by DK Publishing from AmazonVine.

Embrace holistic health and prepare natural health remedies for common ailments with essential oils, herbal remedies and pure foods.

——————————–
© 2019 Under My Apple Tree. All rights reserved.
Advertisements appearing on this site are placed by WordPress and are not endorsed or approved by me.

January 16, 2019 / Leslie

Wordless Wednesday: Winter Pond

Almost wordless: A sunny day last week before the recent snowstorm.

——————————–
More Wordless Wednesday. © 2019 Under My Apple Tree. All rights reserved.
Advertisements appearing on this site are placed by WordPress and are not endorsed or approved by me.

%d bloggers like this: