Skip to content
April 10, 2019 / Leslie

Wordless Wednesday: Sign of Spring

Almost wordless: I found this little crocus while raking the side yard. A sure sign that spring is really here.

——————————–
More Wordless Wednesday. © 2018 Under My Apple Tree. All rights reserved.
Advertisements appearing on this site are placed by WordPress and are not endorsed or approved by me.

Advertisements
April 8, 2019 / Leslie

Mailbox Monday ~ April 8th

Welcome to Mailbox Monday, created by Marcia of To Be Continued, a place where readers share the books that came in their mailbox during the last week.

After several years of being on tour with different blogs as the monthly host, the Mailbox Monday Blog is now the permanent home for the meme.


 

I’ve gotten a little behind on reading and blogging. I didn’t intend to stop writing, but somehow it happened. Life just got in the way, and the blog got shoved into the background.

This will be another busy week – I always end up waiting until the minute to do income taxes. My computer and printer breaking down at the same time was a good excuse. But the reality is, after working for decades in tax, I just don’t like to do it and procrastinate. There is always something better to do!

Some new books over the past few weeks …

New Arrivals

On Democracy by E.B. White from Harper.

Anchored by an introduction by Pulitzer Prize-winning historian Jon Meacham, this concise collection of essays, letters, and poems from one of this country’s most eminent literary voices offers much-needed historical context for our current state of the nation—and hope for the future of our society.

All the Beautiful Lies by Peter Swanson from William Morrow.

From the acclaimed author of Her Every Fear and The Kind Worth Killing comes a diabolically clever tale of obsession, revenge, and cold-blooded murder—a sly and brilliant guessing game of a novel in the vein of Ruth Ware, Paula Hawkins, and Patricia Highsmith.

The Last Time I Saw You by Liv Constantine from Harper.

The internationally bestselling author of The Last Mrs. Parrish follows that success with an addictive novel filled with shocking twists about the aftermath of a brutal high-society murder.

The Binding by Bridget Collins from William Morrow.

[A]n unforgettable, magical novel: a boundary-defying love story and a unique literary event.

——————————–
© 2019 Under My Apple Tree. All rights reserved.
Advertisements appearing on this site are placed by WordPress and are not endorsed or approved by me.

January 21, 2019 / Leslie

Mailbox Monday ~ January 21st

Welcome to Mailbox Monday, created by Marcia of To Be Continued, a place where readers share the books that came in their mailbox during the last week.

After several years of being on tour with different blogs as the monthly host, the Mailbox Monday Blog is now the permanent home for the meme.


 

Did anyone see the Blood Wolf Moon last night? It was way too cold to stand outside and take photos last night, but I did poke my head out a few times and had a view through my garden window. What can say, just awesome!

One new book …

New Arrivals

Complete Wellness: Enjoy Long-lasting Health and Well-being with over 800 Natural Remedies by DK Publishing from AmazonVine.

Embrace holistic health and prepare natural health remedies for common ailments with essential oils, herbal remedies and pure foods.

——————————–
© 2019 Under My Apple Tree. All rights reserved.
Advertisements appearing on this site are placed by WordPress and are not endorsed or approved by me.

January 16, 2019 / Leslie

Wordless Wednesday: Winter Pond

Almost wordless: A sunny day last week before the recent snowstorm.

——————————–
More Wordless Wednesday. © 2019 Under My Apple Tree. All rights reserved.
Advertisements appearing on this site are placed by WordPress and are not endorsed or approved by me.

January 14, 2019 / Leslie

Mailbox Monday ~ January 14th

Welcome to Mailbox Monday, created by Marcia of To Be Continued, a place where readers share the books that came in their mailbox during the last week.

After several years of being on tour with different blogs as the monthly host, the Mailbox Monday Blog is now the permanent home for the meme.


 
One new book this week. A psychological thriller. I need something engaging to jump-start my reading.

Last year I only read 30 books, and the previous year it was 50. That’s a very low number for me, and I’m asking myself, why?

Focus! I seem to have lost it. And not only in reading. It’s also happening in other areas of my life. And it’s disturbing for me, someone who has always been so organized. So focus is my one word for 2019.

New Arrivals

The Secretary by Renée Knight from Harper.

Renée Knight follows up her international sensation Disclaimer with this shivery tale of psychological suspense, featuring a character as disturbing and compelling as Mrs. Danvers in Daphne Du Maurier’s Rebecca.

——————————–
© 2019 Under My Apple Tree. All rights reserved.
Advertisements appearing on this site are placed by WordPress and are not endorsed or approved by me.

January 1, 2019 / Leslie

First Book of the Year 2019

Happy New Year!

And welcome to First Book of the Year hosted by Sheila at Book Journey. Join us as we kick off another year of great reading.

First Book

This year’s first book is Birds of a Feather: A True Story of Hope and the Healing Power of Animals by Lorin Lindner. Those who visit my site know it’s no surprise that I would choose a book about birds as my first book of 2019.

I needed something to kick-start me back into print reading. I’ve been having some vision problems, so reading takes more concentration than listening. My right eye has developed some very annoying floaters that are distracting and frustrating, mostly when I’m doing close work like reading or writing. The doctors says eventually I won’t see them as much, and with regular checkups my sight should be fine, but it’s irritating and annoying, and has contributed to my reading slowdown. But I really do love holding and reading a book, so I’m making an effort! Thank goodness for audiobooks! I am still able to keep up with my book club selections.

Birds of a Feather by Lorin Lindner

Animal lover though she was, Lorin Lindner was definitely not looking for a pet. She was busy training to be a psychologist. Then came Sammy – a mischievous and extremely loud bright pink Moluccan cockatoo who had been abandoned. It was love at first sight. But Sammy needed a companion. Enter Mango, lover of humans (“Hewwo”), inveterate thief of precious objects. Realizing that there were many parrots in need of new homes, Dr. Lindner eventually founded a sanctuary for them.

Meanwhile, she began to meet homeless veterans on the streets of Los Angeles. Before long she was a full time advocate for these former service members, who were often suffering from Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) and finding it hard to navigate the large VA Healthcare System Ultimately, Dr. Lindner created a program for them, too.

Eventually the two parts of her life came together when she founded Serenity Park, a unique sanctuary on the grounds of the Greater Los Angeles Veterans Administration Healthcare Center. She had noticed that the veterans she treated as a clinical psychologist and the parrots she had taken in as a rescuer quickly formed bonds. Men and women who had been silent in therapy would share their stories and their feelings more easily with animals. Now wounded warriors and wounded parrots find a path of healing together.

First Book of the Year

——————————–
© 2019 Under My Apple Tree. All rights reserved.
Advertisements appearing on this site are placed by WordPress and are not endorsed or approved by me.

December 31, 2018 / Leslie

Mailbox Monday ~ December 31st

Welcome to Mailbox Monday, created by Marcia of To Be Continued, a place where readers share the books that came in their mailbox during the last week.

After several years of being on tour with different blogs as the monthly host, the Mailbox Monday Blog is now the permanent home for the meme.


 
Wishing everyone a safe and productive new year. This year sure went by fast. I can’t believe it’s the last day of the year already, but here we are.

No new books but I did receive some audiobook downloads.

New Arrivals

The Dreamers by Karen Thompson Walker from PRH Audio.

A mesmerizing novel about a college town transformed by a strange illness that locks victims in a perpetual sleep and triggers life-altering dreams

The Liar’s Room by Simon Lelic from PRH Audio.

A new spine-tingling thriller from the author of The New Neighbors that takes place over the course of a therapy session, in which neither patient nor therapist are who they claim to be.

——————————–
© 2018 Under My Apple Tree. All rights reserved.
Advertisements appearing on this site are placed by WordPress and are not endorsed or approved by me.

%d bloggers like this: