Skip to content
July 9, 2016 / Leslie

Book Review: Missing, Presumed

A Rapid Review

MissingPresumed2Missing, Presumed by Susie Steiner

Publisher: Random House | June 2016
Format: Hardcover 368 pages | Rating: 3 stars
Genre: Mystery

For readers of Kate Atkinson and Tana French comes a page-turning literary mystery that brings to life the complex and wholly relatable Manon Bradshaw, a strong-willed detective assigned to a high-risk missing persons case.

Edith Hind, a beautiful graduate student and daughter of the surgeon to the Royal Family, has gone missing under suspicious circumstances. Manon Bradshaw is the detective on the case. At 39 and single, she has a solid career and loves her job but still longs for a family of her own.

This was a classic police procedural with alternating perspectives along with a 3rd party point-of-view. It was very character driven which made the mystery slow-paced. At times we got so wrapped up in Manon’s life, I almost forgot we were trying to solve a mystery.

For those who enjoy very literary mysteries, this book might be a good choice; however, I like a little more suspense and complexity in the plot. All told, I liked Manon and thought she was a well-developed and interesting character.

An Under My Apple Tree Rapid Review
——————————–
Source: Review copy provided by Random House through LibraryThing.
© 2016 Under My Apple Tree. All rights reserved.
Advertisements appearing on this site are placed by WordPress and are not endorsed or approved by me.

Advertisements

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. BermudaOnion / Jul 9 2016 4:23 pm

    I think I would need more action and less character development.

    Like

  2. Suko / Jul 9 2016 8:01 pm

    I enjoyed your honest, rapid review, Leslie. Have a relaxing weekend.

    Like

  3. laurelrainsnow / Jul 9 2016 9:06 pm

    I like to mix up my mysteries, from thrillers to cozies, and having lots of characters would work for me when I’m taking a break from the action-paced books. I always enjoy seeing what goes on in the lives of the detectives when they’re not solving their cases.

    Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Comment are welcome. Thanks for stopping by.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: