Skip to content
June 12, 2014 / Leslie

Spotlight & Giveaway: Third Rail by Rory Flynn

Third Rail is the first in a new mystery series that is at once thrilling and brilliantly written in the tradition of Dennis Lehane and Robert Parker. Eddy Harkness, the protagonist, is sure to become a fan favorite – a deeply flawed but irresistibly charming, quirky character.

To celebrate the book’s release, I have one copy to give away to a reader with a US address.

About the Book

Third Rail by Rory FlynnThird Rail

by Rory Flynn
Genre: Thriller
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Publish Date: June 10, 2014
Format: Hardcover | 224 pages

At crime scenes, Eddy Harkness is a human Ouija board, a brilliant young detective with a knack for finding the hidden something—cash, drugs, guns, bodies. But Eddy’s swift rise in an elite narcotics unit is derailed by the death of a Red Sox fan in the chaos of a World Series win, a death that some camera-phone-wielding witnesses believe he could have prevented. Scapegoated, Eddy is exiled to his hometown just outside Boston, where he empties parking meters and struggles to redeem his disgraced family name.

Then Harkness’s police-issue Glock disappears one night. Unable to report the theft, Harkness starts a secret search—just as a string of fatal accidents lead him to uncover a new, dangerous smart drug, Third Rail. With only a plastic disc gun to protect him, Harkness begins a high-stakes investigation that takes him into the darkest corners of the city, where politicians and criminals intertwine to deadly effect.

With a textured sense of place, a nuanced protagonist, and a story that takes off from page one and culminates in a startling finale, Third Rail has all the elements of a breakout mystery success.

About the Author

A powerful new voice in crime fiction. A generally nice guy in Boston.

Rory Flynn is the pen name of acclaimed novelist Stona Fitch, author of five previous novels, including Senseless, now an independent feature film and a graphic novel.

Photo by Sandy Poirier

Photo by Sandy Poirier

In 2008, Stona founded the Concord Free Press, a independent publishing house that publishes and distributes original novels, asking only that readers make a voluntary donation to a charity or person in need, then pass their book on. The CFP has inspired generosity throughout the world and created a new approach to publishing that has earned praise from publishing visionaries and readers.

Stona lives with his family in Concord, Massachusetts.

Connect with Rory

Twitter | Goodreads | Webpage
Watch the Trailer

Giveaway Information

Courtesy of the publicist, I have one copy of Third Rail to give away to a reader with a US mailing address. To enter, fill out the form below on or before midnight, June 21st. For an extra entry, tweet or blog about the giveaway. Winners will be contacted by email and have 48 hours to respond.

[Giveaway Has Ended]

Winner: Suko from Suko’s Notebook.

——————————–
© 2014 Under My Apple Tree. All rights reserved.
Source: Giveaway provided by Wunderkind PR.
——————————–
Advertisements appearing on this site are placed by WordPress and are not endorsed or approved by me.

Advertisements

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. BermudaOnion / Jun 12 2014 9:52 am

    Sounds like a good one! Thanks for the giveaway.

    Like

  2. Sheila (Book Journey) / Jun 12 2014 10:51 am

    Sounds amazing!

    Like

  3. Suko / Jun 12 2014 1:02 pm

    Thanks for hosting this giveaway, Leslie! I’ve added it to my blog’s sidebar. 🙂

    Like

Comment are welcome. Thanks for stopping by.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: