Skip to content
July 15, 2013 / Leslie

Mailbox Monday ~ July 15th

Sunflower-Butterfly-MailboxMailbox Monday was created by The Printed Page. It is the gathering place for readers to share the books that came into their home last week.

Mailbox Monday is currently on tour, hosted by a different blog each month. The July host is Tasha @ Book Obsessed

Here’s what arrived last week.

Print Books:

July14Books_IMG_0923

The Signature of All Things by Elizabeth Gilbert from Viking
A glorious, sweeping novel of desire, ambition, and the thirst for knowledge, from the # 1 New York Times bestselling author of >Eat, Pray, Love and Committed.

Breathless by Anne Sward from Viking
In the tradition of Housekeeping and Tinkers, award-winning Swedish author Anne Swärd’s American debut blends the lyricism of youth with the darker desires of age.

Five Days at Memorial by Sheri Fink from Crown Books
Pulitzer Prize winner Sheri Fink’s landmark investigation of patient deaths at a New Orleans hospital ravaged by Hurricane Katrina – and her suspenseful portrayal of the quest for truth and justice.

Night Film by Marisha Pessl from Random House
In this novel, the dazzlingly inventive writer Marisha Pessl offers a breathtaking mystery that will hold you in suspense until the last page is turned.

Audiobooks

Ghost Riders of Ordebec by Fred VargasThe Humans by Matt Haig

The Ghost Riders of Ordebec by Fred Vargas from Penguin Audio
Commissaire Adamsberg takes on a case far outside of his jurisdiction: the disappearances of evil-doers who have been visited by a band of ghostly horsemen.

The Humans by Matt Haig from Simon and Schuster Audio
The critically acclaimed author of The Radleys shares a clever, heartwarming, and darkly insightful novel about an alien who comes to Earth to save humans from themselves.

What are you reading?

——————————–
© 2013 Under My Apple Tree. All rights reserved.

Advertisements

17 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Lucy / Jul 15 2013 1:48 am

    The Humans looks good, doesn’t it? Breathless sounds intriguing as well. Enjoy your new goodies!

    Like

  2. samstillreading / Jul 15 2013 3:51 am

    Night Film looks awesome! Enjoy!

    Like

  3. Diane@BibliophilebytheSea / Jul 15 2013 5:58 am

    Night Film is sure making the MM scene — enjoy all Leslie.

    Like

  4. Leeswammes / Jul 15 2013 6:10 am

    I’m curious about the Matt Haig book after reading The Radleyd, which I loved. Enjoy your new books!

    Like

  5. BermudaOnion / Jul 15 2013 6:57 am

    My bookseller raved over the new Elizabeth Gilbert so I was very excited to get that last week. I hope we both love it!

    Like

  6. Mary / Jul 15 2013 8:08 am

    Hope you love Night Film – lots of twitter buzz about that one last week!

    Like

  7. Jennifer @ The Relentless Reader / Jul 15 2013 8:20 am

    I received a copy of Five Days as well and I literally jumped up and down when I opened it 🙂 I’m so excited to read that one. I hope we both enjoy it!

    Like

  8. Mystica / Jul 15 2013 8:46 am

    Hope you have a good week and enjoy all your reads.

    Like

  9. Judy B / Jul 15 2013 8:48 am

    Don’t you just love a stack to new books on the table. Looks like you have good reading ahead.

    Like

  10. Carol / Jul 15 2013 9:32 am

    Enjoy your books! I got Night Film too.

    Like

  11. laurelrainsnow / Jul 15 2013 10:24 am

    I’m curious about The Signature of All Things, even though I have yet to read Gilbert’s Eat Pray Love (but I did see the movie!). I read some negative reviews of Eat Pray Love…and I’m going to have to bite the bullet and read the book (it’s been on my stacks for a couple of years!). To see what I think…lol

    Have a great week…and here’s MY MONDAY READING POST

    Like

    • Leslie / Jul 15 2013 7:06 pm

      I have Eat Pray Love still unread on my bookshelves too. It’s right behind me in my office taunting me to read it!

      Like

  12. Suko / Jul 15 2013 12:00 pm

    Enjoy your new books, Leslie! I didn’t know that Elizabeth Gilbert has a new book out–I’ll bet it’s good!

    Like

  13. harvee / Jul 15 2013 12:23 pm

    Night Film is on my radar…

    Like

  14. Elizabeth / Jul 15 2013 2:41 pm

    I love how you display your mailbox books.

    They look great.

    I got the Elizabeth Gilbert book at the BEA. It has such a beautiful cover.

    ENJOY all your books….they all look good.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Mailbox Monday

    Like

    • Leslie / Jul 15 2013 7:04 pm

      Thanks! I’ve been practicing my still-life shots with my books. I thought the cover of Signature of All Things was gorgeous too. That’s why I put it on the top of the stack!

      Like

  15. Tribute Books Mama / Jul 15 2013 3:44 pm

Comment are welcome. Thanks for stopping by.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: